About English Hubs

In October 2018, the government announced the names of 32 schools across England designated as national English Hubs. They will take a leading role in supporting schools in the teaching of early reading and phonics.

As defined by the DfE, each English Hub will:

‘…promote a love of reading and support schools across the country to provide excellent phonics and early language teaching.  Literacy specialists within each hub will provide tailored support to schools. This will include running events to showcase excellent practice in teaching reading and working with local schools to develop their practice’.

Department for Education (DfE), October 2018

We are excited to announce that Outwood Primary Academy Lofthouse Gate is one of the schools designated and will work as part of the Outwood Institute of Education.

The hub schools were chosen through a competitive process - all 32 have a background of excellent phonics teaching and are distributed to benefit the areas that need it most. Each hub will identify specialist literacy teachers who will get additional training to act as experts in teaching in early language and reading from reception year to Key Stage 1. The hubs will work with up to 170 local primary schools and will build a network of excellent phonics teaching in every region.

Congratulations to all students and staff at Outwood Primary Academy Lofthouse Gate and welcome to the Outwood Institute of Education family

 Meet the Team

Lee Wilson copy.jpg

Lee Wilson - Senior Subject Lead

Lee Wilson is an Executive Principal and National Leader of Education for Outwood Grange Academies Trust (OGAT). Lee is currently responsible for the primary academies within the Outwood family.

Since joining the Trust, Lee has led the development of our primary model. The implementation of this has led to significant transformation of our primary academies. In May 2014, Outwood Primary Academy Ledger Lane moved from satisfactory to good. In September, Outwood Primary Academy Kirkhamgate secured the judgment of outstanding having previously been in Special Measures. This is a significant achievement given that this was achieved in only 4 terms. Lee is an award winning teacher (National Teaching Awards) and has led a range of training on leadership, assessment and curriculum development at local, national and international level.


Emma Rennison - Senior Lead

Emma is the Executive Director of the Outwood Institute of Education (OIE), the trust’s Teaching School Alliance. The trust has six designated teaching schools who lead an alliance of over 80 schools, from within the trust and beyond, to recruit, retain and develop teachers.

Prior to her current role, Emma started working at Outwood Grange Academy in 2006 as a Teacher of English in her NQT year and worked leading academy’s training school, prior to the academy securing teaching school status and launching the OIE. She has a Masters in Teaching and Learning and is a designated Specialist Leader of Education.

Catherine Wright.jpg

Catherine Wright - Associate Director of Reading

Catherine is the Associate Director of Reading for OGAT and subject lead for the English Hub; she works in schools within and beyond the trust to enhance to quality of reading practice and performance.

Catherine qualified as a teacher in 2013 and has taught across the primary key stages. In addition to this, she was part of the Senior Leadership Team working as a Literacy Lead and Evidence-based Practice Lead for her previous school and worked to develop other schools’ literacy strategies. She has a BA (hons), PGCE and Masters in Education.


Jacqueline Wicks - Senior Administrator

Jacqueline is based at the Outwood Institute of Education in Doncaster and works closely with the English Hub leadership team and local schools. Jacqueline oversees events run by the English Hub ensuring that delegates receive regular updates and emails about training, meetings and showcases.

The Outwood English Hub is also supported by the following Specialist Leaders of Education (SLEs):

  • Laura Winterburn – Outwood Primary Academy Lofthouse Gate

  • Katie Pitts – Outwood Primary Academy Lofthouse Gate

  • Madia Mamood – Outwood Primary Academy Lofthouse Gate

  • Rebecca Seale – Outwood Primary Academy Newstead Green

  • Mel Kirman – Outwood Primary Academy Newstead Green

  • Debbie Lindley – Outwood Primary Academy Newstead Green